Submit your Abstract here.
Download the event flyer.

The Workshop will provide an opportunity to review and discuss the state-of-the-art approaches to characterize porous materials of different origin. Lectures by recognized leaders in porous materials science will cover both theoretical principles and methodology of modern experimental techniques. Oral presentations and poster sessions will complement invited and keynote lectures. Proceedings will be published as a special volume of Microporous and Mesoporous Materials journal.


• Molecular Thermodynamics of Fluids in Pores • Adsorption and Capillary Phenomena • Intermolecular Interactions in Porous Confinements • Computer Simulations and Density Functional Theory • Energetic Heterogeneity of Surfaces • Fractal Characterization of Disordered Structures • Adsorption Porosimetry of Micro and Mesoporous Solids • Mercury Porosimetry and Liquid Intrusion Techniques • Thermoporometry and Calorimetry • Chromatographic Characterization of Porous Materials • High Resolution Microscopy and Image Analysis • Scattering Techniques for Pore Structure Analysis • Relations Between Structural, Transport, and Functional Properties

Special sessions will focus on:

• Novel Nanoporous Materials and Adsorption Processes for Industrial Applications • Computational Design and Screening of Novel Adsorbents • Modeling and Characterization of Hierarchical Nanostructured Materials • Adsorption Induced Deformation and Phase Transformations of Porous Frameworks • In-situ Monitoring of Adsorption and Fluid Flow in Porous Structures • Adsorption and Characterization of Geosorbents: Shale, Coal, Soil. • Adsorption of Polymers, Proteins, and Nanoparticles on Porous Substrates

Workshop Chair: Alexander V. Neimark, Rutgers University, USA

Workshop Vice-Chair: Matthias Thommes, Quantachrome, USA

International Advisory Committee Honorary Advisory Committee
Gino Baron, Vrije Universiteit Brussels, Belgium
Marc-Olivier Coppens, University College London, UK
Michael Fröba, University of Hamburg, Germany
Renaud Denoyel, Aix-Marseille University-CNRS, France
Alain Fuchs, National Center for Scientific Research, France
Keith Gubbins, North Carolina State University, USA
Katsumi Kaneko, Shinshu University, Japan
Stefan Kaskel, Technische Universität Dresden, Germany
Minoru Miyahara, Kyoto University, Japan
Peter Monson, University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA
Klaus Unger, Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz, Germany

Jean Rouquerol, Aix-Marseille University - CNRS, France

Francisco Rodriguez-Reinoso, University of Alicante, Spain

Gerhard Findenegg, Technical University Berlin, Germany



CPM-8 Program is now available!


We are extremely delighted to announce that we will have a world-class program of scientific presentations; The program is composed of 58 podium talks, including keynote and invited lectures, which in addition to the 100 poster presentations embraces a wide spectrum of micro- and mesoporous materials, characterization techniques, and theoretical/computational methods related to the characterization of porous materials. With the authors representing 29 countries, CPM-8 is going to become one of the largest international events in porous materials in 2018!

Please visit the program page for updated versions.

Posted: 2018-02-27

Poster Abstract Deadline for Recent Research Reports EXTENDED!


The deadline for submission of abstracts reporting recent research has been extended to March 11th 2018. Submit your abstract now at

Posted: 2018-02-19

NSF Travel Grant


We are happy to announce that NSF has awarded a travel grant to support US students, postdocs, and junior faculty, who present papers at CPM-8. The reimbursement amount will depend on the number of eligible participants. Requests for travel support should be submitted to CPM-8 Organizers <> and Prof. Gennady Gor <> as soon as possible but not later than Feb 15th. Request should be made by the eligible CPM-8 participant and, in case of students and postdocs, a supporting letter from the adviser is required. We remind that it is not too late to submit poster abstracts for recent research reports by Feb 15th and encourage US faculty to bring their students to CPM-8.

Posted: 2018-01-31

Post Conference Events


Sunset Cruise: Wednesday evening (May 9, 2018) (Spaces are limited and will be allocated on a first-come, first-served basis.)
Quantachrome Instruments is hosting a relaxing, two hours post-conference cruise on the Intracoastal Waterway.
Quantachrome Instruments Tour: Wednesday afternoon (May 9, 2018)
Are you interested to visit Quantachrome Instruments headquarters in Boynton Beach (10 min away from the conference hotel) prior to the Sunset Cruise?

For more information (sign-up ends Mar-31-2018), click here.

Posted: 2018-01-29

Submit your Poster Abstract until Feb 15th

Just go to our home page ( and click on "Submit your Abstract here" and follow instructions to submit your abstract.  
Posted: 2018-01-11
More Announcements...

Conference Information

  • Questions? Please Contact